American Heart Association, RLC offering lifesaving training

MT. VERNON, Ill. (Aug. 18, 2014) – The American Heart Association (AHA) and Rend Lake College are joining forces to help others save lives. This fall, several training courses will be offered at the RLC MarketPlace in Mt. Vernon to instruct students of all ages in a number of lifesaving techniques.

One of the most popular courses is CPR (cardiopulmonary resuscitation), a training required for a number of medical professions that teaches the proper techniques to resuscitate someone who has stopped breathing or whose heartbeat has stopped. The one-day course will last from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. on the following dates: Thursday, Aug. 21; Wednesday, Sept. 10; Thursday, Oct. 16; Monday, Nov. 3; and Wednesday, Dec. 3.

CPR is now a requirement in all Illinois high schools, in accordance with a bill passed by Governor Pat Quinn in early June starting with the 2014-15 academic year. Leslie McKenzie, CPR Associate Professor and AHA Training Center Coordinator, said the AHA and RLC always offer the training free of charge.

“Our area high schools now require mandatory training in CPR and AEDs,” said McKenzie. “Rend Lake College and the American Heart Association offer this training for free to everyone, not just high school students.”

There will also be a CPR course offered in Pinckneyville, at the Murphy-Wall Campus, Room 101. The class is scheduled for 5:30 – 9:30 p.m. Tuesday, Sept. 16.

Another one-day course that fills up fast is First Aid. This training gives the student knowledge and confidence needed to respond in a life-threatening situation. The course is scheduled from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. on Thursday, Sept. 11; Tuesday, Oct. 14; Thursday, Nov. 4; and Monday, Dec. 1.

The AHA also offers Pediatric Advanced Life Support (PALS) Preparatory and PALS Renewal courses in the training center. The Preparatory class includes instruction in recognizing and treating infants and children at risk of cardiopulmonary arrest and other medical emergencies. The preparatory class is two days long, from 9 a.m. until 5 p.m., on Monday and Tuesday, Oct. 20-21; or Tuesday and Wednesday, Dec. 9-10.

The PALS Renewal course is one day, also from 9 a.m. until 5 p.m., on Thursday, Sept. 4; Tuesday, Nov. 25; or Tuesday, Jan. 20.

For those who want to work with adults, the AHA is also offering Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS) Preparatory and ACLS Renewal. Almost identical to PALS, ACLS focuses on cardiopulmonary arrest in adults rather than children and infants. The preparatory class lasts from 9 a.m. until 5 p.m. on the following dates: Monday and Tuesday, Aug. 18-19; Tuesday and Wednesday, Aug. 26-27; Monday and Tuesday, Sept. 15-16; Monday and Tuesday, Sept. 22-23; Tuesday and Wednesday, Oct. 14-15; Wednesday and Thursday, Oct. 22-23; Wednesday and Thursday, Nov. 12-13; Tuesday and Wednesday, Nov. 18-19; Thursday and Friday, Dec. 4-5; and Monday and Tuesday, Dec. 15-16.

The ACLS Renewal course lasts one day, from 9 a.m. – 5 p.m., on Tuesday, Aug. 19; Wednesday, Aug. 27; Tuesday, Sept. 16; Tuesday, Sept. 23; Wednesday, Oct. 15; Thursday, Oct. 23; Thursday, Nov. 13; Wednesday, Nov. 19; Friday, Dec. 5; or Tuesday, Dec. 16.

RLC and the AHA are also offering a few instructor courses in ACLS, PALS, and Basic Life Support (BLS). The training courses are scheduled individually with Leslie McKenzie. McKenzie can be contacted at 618-437-5321, Ext. 1418 or .

All of the trainings are free and will be held in the American Heart Association Training Center at the RLC MarketPlace, Room 221, in Mt. Vernon. To register, contact the training center at 618-437-5321, Ext. 2032 or .

Search RLC News Articles

1098T online promo sq

enrollNowgiveNow
catalog
warriors
Canvas
foundation