American Heart Association offerings CPR, PALS, ACLS trainings

INA, Ill. (Sept. 5, 2018) – Rend Lake College is teaming up with the American Heart Association (AHA) this fall to offer a number of emergency services courses at the AHA Training Center at the MarketPlace, Room 221, in Mt. Vernon.

Among these courses are CPR/AED and First Aid, Pediatric Advanced Life Support (PALS), Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS), and Trauma Nurse Core Course (TNCC). To learn more or to reserve a seat today, contact the AHA Training Center at 618-437-5321, Ext. 2032.

CPR/AED and First Aid

There are several one-day courses scheduled for First Aid and CPR (cardiopulmonary resuscitation) / AED (automated external defibrillator) training at the RLC AHA Training Center this semester. By definition, First Aid is the assistance given to any person suffering a sudden illness or injury, with care provided to preserve life, to prevent the condition from worsening, and to promote recovery.

The First Aid and CPR/AED courses will meet from 9 a.m. – 5 p.m. on the following dates: Monday, Sept. 10; Tuesday, Oct. 2; Thursday, Nov. 15; and Wednesday, Dec. 5. 

ACLS, PALS Prep and Renewal

The AHA also offers both ACLS provider and ACLS renewal courses this semester to ready students for the urgent treatment of cardiac arrest, stroke, and other life-threatening medical emergencies. The provider class meets from 9 a.m. – 5 p.m. on the following dates: Monday, Sept. 19 and Tuesday, Sept. 20 and Tuesday, Nov. 6 and Wednesday, Nov. 7.

The renewal courses require one day of study, also from 9 a.m. – 5 p.m., on Thursday, Sept. 20; Friday, Oct. 12; Wednesday, Nov. 7; and Tuesday, Dec. 4.

Another two-day provider class, PALS aims to develop the knowledge and skills necessary for students to efficiently and effectively manage critically ill infants and children. The class meets from 9 a.m. – 5 p.m. on Tuesday, Nov. 13 and Wednesday, Nov. 14. For those needing renewal, the one-day course will meet from 9 a.m. – 5 p.m. Wednesday, Sept. 12 and Friday, Oct. 19.


Search RLC News Articles

1098T online promo sq

enrollNowgiveNow
catalog
warriors
Canvas
foundation